Missions Methodology From a Five-Year-Old

My five-year-old son came to me today, eyes dancing, excited to share with me his vision for missions. I thought it was worth passing along.

The following excerpt is from memory, so it’s a little paraphrased, but it’s very close to his original words…

Dad told me that since I always want to do dangerous and exciting things, that maybe when I grow up, God wants to send me to a dangerous place to tell people about God—where bad guys will want to kill me!

And you know what I would do if they didn’t think I was tough?

First I would tickle them really bad, and it would make them laugh really hard, and then I would punch them and beat them up.

And I would punch them in the eye…or in the place that makes them blind. ‘Cause I learned that there’s a place you can punch people that will make them blind.

That’s a good way to get their attention.

And then they won’t know where they are going. And I will tell them, “Stay!” And they will obey me.

And then I will tell them about Jesus.

I will them that I am stronger than them, but Jesus is even stronger than me. And at the end I will tell them that Jesus loves them and he died to pay for their sins, ’cause it’s good to save the best for last. Right, Mom?

And then I will teach them to read the Bible. And I will have Max [big brother] with me, ’cause you need some help to teach people to read the Bible. ‘Cause Max is the expert on reading, and I am the expert on fighting!

I really don’t think I can add to this, so I will just point out a few of the things I gleaned:

1.  It’s important to communicate to people in a way that is relevant to their culture. (Bad guys understand violence…and tickling is universal.)

2.  Do whatever is necessary to engage your audience and grab their attention. (Sudden blindness is very arresting—plus, it’s got Biblical precedence.)

3.  Giving the bad news first, lends clarity to the good news. (After you get your butt kicked and find out that Jesus is even scarier than your assailant, it’s especially nice to discover that he actually loves you very much.)

4.  Team-building is vital for the success of any missionary endeavor. (You should at least have one good fighter and one good reader.)

It’s such a pleasure to see the wisdom we pass on to our children beginning to take shape in their lives, isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Missions Methodology From a Five-Year-Old”

  1. I hope the picture isn’t the reader. If it is, I wouldn’t like to meet the fighter.
    Our general-purpose taxi drivers in South Africa are about the worst, and most aggressive drivers in the world. We reckon they will go straight to heaven, because they get more people praying than all the preachers combined. So perhaps the five-year-old is onto something!
    I like your gleanings. Very positive! 🙂

  2. I thought it was interesting that he didn’t assume he would be preaching to nice people while fighting off interference from the bad guys. Rather, he assumed his mission WAS the bad guys…

Leave a Reply

