Too Many Books

I’ve discovered that reading four books (well, listening to one on CD) at the same time means that I don’t follow any of them very well. And at the rate I’m going, it looks as though I might be reading those same four books for the next three years.

I think I’ll keep it down to two at a time in the future.

For all you readers out there, I’m curious—do you have any particular system or approach to your literature habit?

If you have kids at home, when do you find time to read?

Do you intentionally alternate genres or just choose randomly?

How many do you usually have cracked at once?

Do you have any tips for reading and retaining information from multiple books at once?

Do you keep track of what you read or have reading goals?

And finally—What do you like to read? Are you fiction or non?

6 thoughts on “Too Many Books”

  1. I do my reading on my daily commute. It’s nearly an hour each way on the tube in London (UK), so, despite being crazy busy most of the time, I do manage to get quite a bit of reading done. I have to confess I’m farily strict about having only one on the go at any one time. Otherwise I get weird scenes that never happened between characters from rival books springing up in my imagination…

  2. do you have any particular system or approach to your literature habit?
    There is no rhyme or reason, I squeeze in time whenever I remember to.

    If you have kids at home, when do you find time to read?
    Usually after they are in bed. Sometimes I am home when everyone else i gone.

    Do you intentionally alternate genres or just choose randomly?
    I usually have one religious book and 1-2 other genres going at once. I try to read only specific topics at any given time, but this can be somewhat random.

    How many do you usually have cracked at once?
    For the past year this number has varied between three and six, I think. Currently I am half way through one photography book and two religion books.

    Do you have any tips for reading and retaining information from multiple books at once?
    I would recommend only working on one book at a time and try to finish it within a week (or a month).

    Do you keep track of what you read or have reading goals?
    I used to keep track but it was becoming a waste of time by taking up time that could have been spent reading more books. My goals for this summer are the same as last summer: read over a dozen photography books. Last summer I focused on learning how to take good photographys, this summer I’m focusing on how to effectively edit digital photos in Photoshop, Lightroom, for black & white, style, etc. It’s very rewarding.

    What do you like to read? Are you fiction or non?
    I like to read both but can’t spare the time for fiction anymore. Everything I am reading these days is informative. I am either refining my theological convictions or photographic technique these days. All of my fiction now feeds to my brain through videos. Current fiction is the Battlestar Galactica series which I stream through Netflix on my Xbox 360.

  3. I was more non-fiction than fiction, but my writing has interested me in the way others write.
    And it’s usually nothing more systematic than mood that drives what I read.
    No discipline!

  4. If you have kids at home, when do you find time to read? naptime and bedtime

    Do you intentionally alternate genres or just choose randomly? randomly

    How many do you usually have cracked at once? One, unless classes require more

    Do you have any tips for reading and retaining information from multiple books at once? Nope!

    Do you keep track of what you read or have reading goals? Just to keep up with classes. Other than that, I read whenever I can get away with it (baby asleep, chores done or rest needed)

    And finally—What do you like to read? Are you fiction or non? Everything!

  5. For all you readers out there, I’m curious—do you have any particular system or approach to your literature habit?

    If you have kids at home, when do you find time to read?
    N/A

    Do you intentionally alternate genres or just choose randomly?
    When I feel like escaping I choose fiction. When I feel like this book will help my spiritual growth I read it, but I don’t do it for the sake of reading. I do it because I know the seeds will help improve my life. I read books that try to stir my spirit, heart, or imagination.

    How many do you usually have cracked at once?
    Usually about one at a time, but for Christmas one time I got four and ended up reading two.

    Do you have any tips for reading and retaining information from multiple books at once?
    Well for textbooks and non-fiction that is more factual than spiritual I make outlines. I had a learning disability when it comes to reading. This is what I used in college. You have to know what kind of learner you are an that will help you make a decision on if you need to visualize things, or hear things or both. I am audiovisual so for textbooks I try to focus on the people in the stories and imagine them. If you’re reading an accounting book that’s harder to do. I also got books on tape, but usually the act of making notes and outlines helped. It takes a lot of time but it keeps you organized and then you retain a lot of information

    Do you keep track of what you read or have reading goals?
    I don’t have reading goals except for reading the Bible. I have a bookshelf that keeps track of what I read. For the Bible I try to read at least one chapter a day, if not then I try to take one verse and just really chew on it.

    And finally—What do you like to read? Are you fiction or non?
    I used to be very fiction- The first two books of the Mark of the Lion Series by Francine Rivers were very good, but now I consider myself non-fiction – I like to read about spiritual improvements – books I like Dreams and Visions by Perry Stone, The Prodigal God – I forgot who that’s by, Made To Crave by Lysa Terkeurst[spelling] Usually I like books that I can finish in one day or that I can finish in a couple of days. If I don’t want to keep on reading it after a couple of hours then it’s not going to hold my attention long enough and I won’t consider it a pretty good book. I guess it depends on the mood I am in.

  6. If you have kids at home, when do you find time to read?

    I have 4 kids, plus all their friends, but they are all teens and older now but I remember when they were younger and being such a reader and wanting to pass that on to them, I would just jumped into whatever was age appropriate for them and we read together, A LOT! There’s actually a lot of really good kids books out there and even the picture books are somewhat amazing with the art work and the story behind the story and the juvenile section is always interesting…fantasy, angst, drama, how to, science stuff. It gives insight to what the teens/preteens are processing. Even the graphic novels are interesting..not something I particularly enjoy, but it is interesting to see what is out there now and what kids are reading. I also remember reading my books during nap times, or when my hubby came home, I would take a break and read then…even when I was still busy, doing laundry or taking a soaking bath, I almost always had a book with me. Audio books were great, too ’cause I’d have a head set and could pause them easily and then hit play if I took them for a walk in their stroller or was outside gardening.

    Do you have any particular system or approach to your literature habit and do you intentionally alternate genres or just choose randomly?

    I don’t know that I would say it’s intentional but it’s a pattern that I have noticed…I read daily from the Bible and I alternate with the other genres…I read an inspirational/self-help book (something deeper) or a text book/learning type thing that I really have to think about and process; then I read some fiction or something lighter that I don’t really have to think about at all, I just enjoy it as the escape that it is.

    How many do you usually have cracked at once?
    I try not to read more than one (or 2) at a time…that being said, I look around me and realize I have, right now, 4 books going…2 by Christian authors (Donald Miller and Erwin McManus), 1 devotional, and one murder/mystery.

    Do you have any tips for reading and retaining information from multiple books at once?

    Journaling/note taking…and highlighting (if you own the book and don’t mind marking it up). Also, if I have other friends who are reading the same book or they have read it, having a book study or discussion about it really helps especially if it’s something I want to retain or explore more in depth.

Leave a Reply

