I won! I won!

There is a free book on its way to my doorstep—all because I pop in to see what’s going at Near Emmaus now and again. One of the authors, Mark Stevens, posted the giveaway a few weeks ago. Readers were asked to blog about an influential pastor in their lives, preferably of the unsung hero variety.

Some of you may have read my post about my husband. Yesterday, I was informed that hubby’s awesomeness landed me a brand-spankin’-new, hot off the presses copy of Eugene Peterson’s The Pastor: A Memoir. I plan to read it with my pastor. There may be reviews forthcoming.

Honestly, that post was one of the most effortless things I have ever written. I could have gushed on a whole lot longer than I did. In fact, I would like to take the opportunity today to honor my mister in another way.

It is my hope that readers of this blog occasionally find nuggets of perspective, food for thought, encouragement, or inspiration in the words they read. If/when you do find such things, you should know that it is a team effort. Obviously, I pray for God’s guidance as I choose what to share and how to share it, but there is another silent someone who is very much a part of what goes on here at Treasure Contained…

Much of what I write is the result of conversations I have with my husband (who does not enjoy writing in the least). He gives me tons of food for thought and I am frequently challenged and inspired by his perspective. What lands on the pages of this blog is often the result of the Holy Spirit helping me process his thoughts and insights into scripture through my own life and experiences.

I realize that both you and he would become bored and uncomfortable if I began every other paragraph with, “My husband says…”, so I thought I would give credit where credit is due this way.  🙂

4 thoughts on “I won! I won!”

  1. Congrats. I’ve also won a few things on blogs before and it’s always fun. I’ve been really interested in reading Peterson’s works, and I’m sure you will love this one. It would be nice to read your thoughts after you are done with it, or maybe even as you work through it.

    1. Nathan –
      It is way more fun to acquire things by winning them than just about any other way–it often even makes the prize seem more exciting than it otherwise would have.

      I actually haven’t read any of Peterson’s stuff, but from what I know about him, I’m sure this one will have gems worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

