Board Games, Integrity, and Accountability

Hill that hubby and I climbed together (on a much wetter day, though)
Self portrait at the top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My husband and I had the opportunity to attend a wonderful retreat last weekend. We traveled to central Oregon and spent a few nights in cozy lodge in a canyon that was once the site of the  Rajneeshees’ international cult compound. After the leader of the Rajneeshees was deported and the community disbanded, the entire 100 sq. mile property was purchased by Dennis Washington, who later donated it to Young Life. It is now the home of Washington Family Ranch, an impressive youth camp facility and retreat center.

We had a lovely, relaxing time and really enjoyed the opportunity to get to know some of the other folks who serve at our church. However, this gathering brought to light one of my major personality flaws—I don’t like board games.

I don’t hate them. If the situation calls for it, and it is the right game, I can enjoy spending time with people that way. The problem is…I would rather spend time with people just about any other way. Going from a conversation to a board game feels like leaving Olive Garden to go to McDonald’s. They both serve the same purpose, but one is rather cheap and degraded compared to the other.

Being a board game rebel is very lonely. Not only are you a minority—you’re also the party-pooper.

So, you can imagine my delight when, partway through the weekend, I discovered I was in the company of a couple of other ‘board game haters.’ It made me feel like maybe there wasn’t something so wrong with me afterall…or at least if there was, I wasn’t the only one with the problem.

Later, as I sat in my own kitchen still enjoying the thought of other folks who cringe at the mention of Cranium or Pictionary, I reflected on human nature (specifically, my own).

Isn’t it just like me to seek out and embrace someone that agrees with my perspective or affirms my choices?

That’s not always bad. Sometimes it spurs me on and provides much needed encouragement.

But sometimes my perspective is off, my choices are damaging, or my understanding is naive. What then? If I choose to make a habit of seeking out only literature or counsel that agree with what I’ve already decided—that is precisely what I will do any time I am challenged. In essence, I  would volitionally stunt my own growth for the sake being able to hold onto something I’d prefer to think.

Funny how things go sometimes. While gloating over the discovery of others who share my opinions about board games, I was reminded of the need to build accountability, intellectual integrity, and a teachable attitude into my life.

But you still can’t make me like board games.

3 thoughts on “Board Games, Integrity, and Accountability”

Leave a Reply

