Really? Flying snakes?!

I promise this won’t become a homeschooling blog…but I am a homeschooling mom and it’s bound to creep in sometimes. I don’t believe all Christians are dropping the ball if they don’t homeschool. Religious conviction isn’t even my primary reason for teaching at home. I am just sure that I can provide a better education for my son at this point in his life than he would get in a traditional classroom. That being the case, the only motive I could have for sending him to public school would be to get rid of him for a few hours a day. I don’t need to do that—I actually still really like the kid. And I have found that the homeschooling adventure affords me the opportunity to learn a lot as well.

Today my son was reading out loud to us from a kid’s nature book. He started talking about a gliding snake, and the crazy distances this thing could supposedly stay airborne. Being a good home educator, I decided this was an excellent time to encourage and maximize learning (plus, I was just really curious and a little skeptical). So, we hopped on youtube.

Sure enough! The snake was amazing! I’ve never seen anything like it.  It launches itself out of the tops of tall trees and glides to a destination. It can make ninety degree turns in the air as well as several other aerodynamic feats. You’ll just have to watch the video…

I learned two things from this: God’s creation is really cool—and I never want to live anywhere that snake can be found!

7 thoughts on “Really? Flying snakes?!”

  1. That was spectacular! I’ll admit I’d rather not live where snakes are leaping out of the trees, but it would be wonderful to see the snake in action. God’s creation is amazing.

  2. Very nice! Thanks for sharing! I love reading your blog! Also, I agree with you… I would
    Not enjoy living in a place where snakes “fly”…

  3. I teach science in a public high school. Hardly a day goes by where I don’t learn something new.

    It has become fairly routine for me to mention to students that the longer I teach, the more I realize how little I really know.

    God’s creation is amazing, and so is that snake.
    Of course it’s still a snake… I prefer flying squirrels. 8)

Leave a Reply

