The Sound of Many Waters

Revelation 1:13-15 (NASB)
13 and in the middle of the lampstands I saw one like a son of man, clothed in a robe reaching to the feet, and girded across His chest with a golden sash.
14 His head and His hair were white like white wool, like snow; and His eyes were like a flame of fire.
15 His feet were like burnished bronze, when it has been made to glow in a furnace, and His voice was like the sound of many waters.

It seems Jesus looked a little different than the last time John had seen Him. This may just surpass the limits of my imagination. I certainly don’t think any artist could do it justice. The part that really trips me out is the voice. What must it be like to hear someone talk in a voice that is “like the sound of many waters?” Imagine the ocean or a loud river talking to you in words you can understand.

Obviously, I’m reading through Revelation right now.

I am not so much struck by the things I can’t know for sure, like the exact meaning of some of the symbolism, or a definitive chronology of end-time events (although some of the theories are pretty interesting).

Rather, I am amazed by the details that are provided.

I am given a peek at events around the throne of God, and glimpses of places and things in heaven. How cool is that?!

I am reminded that God will not allow the world to continue on its sin-corrupted course forever. I am assured that He will one day make all things right. What a glorious and amazing hope!

Blessed indeed is the one who reads and heeds! (Rev 1:3)

This is a beautiful song about Jesus as He is revealed in Revelation. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The Sound of Many Waters”

  1. “The sound of many waters”

    When I first read that descriptions I was reminded of the ROAR that is made from a water fall. Ever stand next to Niagra Falls, or other great water falls?

    THAT is what I picture when I thing of Jesus’s voice.

    1. Canice – Thanks for sharing; that’s a good one. Pretty crazy and awe-inspiring to think about! It blows me away to think we’ll experience that first-hand someday.

Leave a Reply

