Am I God’s friend?

John 15:15 (NASB)
15 No longer do I call you slaves, for the slave does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you.

Here Jesus tells his disciples that they are His friends. Why? He has opened Himself up to them. He has shared with them His heart, His concerns, His desires, and His plans. Not with complete clarity, but in a very real sense, they know Him. They are on the inside.

He contrasts the declaration of friendship with the slave-master relationship. Of course, this does not mean that they no longer serve Him. Earlier in the same passage, Jesus says, “You are My friends if you do what I command you.”

The distinction is that a slave obeys because of station, duty, and obligation. The master does not confide in him. A friend, on the other hand, serves out of love, devotion, and affection.

Followers of Christ are on the inside—as much as they choose to be anyway. God has revealed Himself and his plans to us in His word. His Spirit is with us and He speaks intimately to our hearts. He has made the ultimate sacrifice on our behalf—His death on the cross for our sins. He is a friend to us. We celebrate this. We even sing that song, “I am a friend of God—I am a friend of God—He calls me friend!”

The question is: Am I a friend to God?

Serving Him simply because it is right is good and appropriate. But I want to be so much more than that for my God. I want to serve Him because I know Him and I am so eager to be a part of what He is doing. In the John 15 passage Jesus says, “This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.” It is important to God that we love each other sacrificially. OK, there’s a place to start.

Do you see where I am going with this? Any good friend will make an effort to find out about the interests, dreams, and goals of his friends. And, to the degree he is devoted to those friends, he will support them in their endeavors through whatever means he has available. They will respond with trust and confidence in his friendship.

I believe God is touched when I show a real interest in His concerns—when I try to know His heart. There are many things that God won’t, maybe can’t, tell me in this life. But I think there are lots of things He wants to tell me about Himself. He’s waiting until I care, until I am ready to really listen, or until I am at a place in my life where I understand.

And then what do I do with what He shares with me? Do I hold it as precious and let it shape my worldview and my lifestyle? Or do I enjoy the neat spiritual experience and kind of let it go “in one ear and out the other?” God’s greatness is beyond my comprehension and yet He tenderly, openly, and vulnerably offers me friendship. How sad it would be if I traded it for something less and, in that sense, rejected Him.

How amazing,  though, that I have the opportunity to be more of a friend to God tomorrow than I am today. I can bless God’s heart, and in increasing measure be someone He can confide in and count on. And He wants me to. I am not gifted enough with words to express the wonder and humility forced on my heart by that truth.


2 thoughts on “Am I God’s friend?”

  1. Thanks for sharing!

    As a homeschool mom, I insist my children look up words that they don’t know the meaning of, so they will KNOW what is expected of them, or how to use or apply them to their life or the situation, or in context….

    Over and over I kept hearing the word, “Submission.”
    For many Americans that’s the “S” Word!

    I desire to know the truth so it will set me FREE!!!
    I looked up the word, “Submission” and found many meanings, one being:
    “Surrendering your WILL and your OPPINION to that of another.”

    My will AND my oppinionn?
    My, my, my, my, MY!

    Often times we have to submit to authority, be it God, our husbands, “The Law”, a boss, whosoever it is that is watching over us….

    Knowing the true meaning of Submission helps us to know what God is expected of us.
    I am a friend of God if I do what He commands of me.
    It’s more than just doing what God expects; it’s surrendering my WILL and my OPPINION about what God commands of me….

    Changing one’s will, and “giving in to” a person or situation is one thing, but changing one’s oppinion… {sigh} THAT takes true submission… humility… surrender….

    Over and over we read in God’s Word the importance of Obedience.
    Is that the “O” Word?
    To some, yes, it is!

    I’m convinced the American slogan is, “It’s all about ME.”

    As the song goes:
    “It’s all about You, Jesus
    And all this is for You
    For Your glory and your fame
    It’s not about me
    As if You should do things my way
    You alone are God
    And I surrender to your ways”

    Surrender means raising one’s hands in submission; letting go of one’s will and oppinion; following the direction their being led; not trying to fight against those in authority; not trying to hold on to anything that they might want to cling to….

    I am a Friend of God when I surrender to His ways.
    I am a Friend of God when I Submit my will and my oppinion to HIM and those He puts in authority over me, mainly my husband…

    “He’s still working on me,
    to make me what I ought to be.
    It took Him just a week to make the moon and stars,
    The sun and the Earth, Jupiter and Mars.
    How loving and patient He must be,
    Cuz He’s still working on me!”

  2. I think that the most amazing thing in this universe is that the Creator of this universe wants to be our friend.
    He made us and knows us like no one else does and still wants to be our friend. I’m not so gracious. I can’t stand myself sometimes let alone anyone else. I’m just really really grateful that God is supernatural and therefore infinately patient and persistant!

Leave a Reply

